

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Hybrid meeting held both at Citadines Bay, Manila, Philippines and Online on 27th June 2024, 1700 local time

MINUTES

- 1. The Presidential Address was given by Captain André LeGoubin FNI. This will be published in the August 2024 edition of *Seaways*.
- 2. The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 27th June 2023 were confirmed.
- 3. Attendees were briefed on the Annual Report of the Trustees for 2023 by the Chair of the Executive Board, Mr Peter Hinchliffe OBE FNI.
- 4. The Annual Accounts for the Year Ending 31st December 2023 were reviewed by the Hon Treasurer, Captain Duncan Telfer FNI, and approved.
- 5. Auditors Buzzacotts LLP were reappointed, and the Directors were authorised to set their remuneration.
- 6. The CEO delivered an update on the YTD activities of The Nautical Institute. The update included:
 - Review and update of the Articles of Association and Bylaws by the newly formed sub-committee
 - New initiatives, including the OCEAN Project, Fishing DPVM DPO Revalidation and Renewables.
 - Staffing
 - Member engagement
 - Member Champions and Honorary Fellow appointment
- 7. The following were elected as members of Council for a period of three years:

Seagoing

- Rear Admiral Nalindra Jayasinghe FNI (Sri Lanka)
- Mrs Ann Pletschke FNI (South Africa)
- Captain Victor Gronmyr FNI (Canada, British Columbia)

Shore based

- Captain Laura McCormack MNI (US/North East Coast)
- Captain Ahmed Zubair FNI (Maldives)

8. The following members were elected as Officers of the Institute:

Vice President:

• Mr Neil Dulling FNI (UK/London)

Senior Vice President:

• Captain Walter Vervloesem FNI (Belgium)

President of The Nautical Institute

- Captain Trevor Bailey FNI (UK/NW England & N Wales)
- 9. The President invited the CEO to announce the awards of Fellowship and other awards.

Certificates of Fellowship:

- Mr Stephen Robert Cameron
- Mr Neil Dulling
- Mr Lars Lippuner
- Mr John Abercrombie
- Mr Anthony Neumann
- Cdr Angus Fedoruk
- Vice Adm Eduardo Santos
- Cdre Duncan Lamb
- Captain Victor Gronmyr
- Captain Sajith Babu
- Captain Nimal Perera
- Captain Mohamed Nazim
- Captain Leo Vincent
- Captain Ian Whale
- Captain Gregory Tylawsky
- Captain Daniel Millett
- Captain Brian McKenna
- Captain Andy Goldsmith
- Captain Ahmed Abdul Majid Al-Hilley
- Rear Adm Nalindra Jayasinghe
- Dr Colin Dewey

UK/London UK/London UK/Solent South Africa UK/Humber CAN/British Columbia Philippines UK/Central Scotland CAN/British Columbia India (South West) Sri Lanka Maldives Singapore UK/London U.S. West Coast UK/North West England & North Wales Ireland UK/London UK/North West England & North Wales Sri Lanka U.S. West Coast

Vice Admiral Santos who attended in person, was presented with his Fellow certificate by the President.

The Honorary Fellowship was awarded to Rear Admiral Wilson Pereira De Lima Filho

The newly created President's Award was presented to two members.

Captain Yves Vandenborn for building professional industry relationships in Singapore, transforming The Nautical Institute's Singapore Branch into a vibrant hub and promoting the needs of seafarers globally.

Dr Angelica Baylon AFNI for promoting and developing sustainability in maritime education globally, promoting gender equality and cultural awareness, and considering cadets and younger career professionals' needs and expectations.

- 10. The CEO gave special thanks to the following Membership Champions for their efforts in engaging and recruiting members:
 - Capt Orlando Dimailig AFNI, Philippines Branch
 - Mr Julian Mendis MNI, Sri Lanka Branch
 - Capt Julio Bonilla MNI, Philippines Branch
 - Capt Rawle Baddaloo FNI, Trinidad & Tobago
 - Cadet Gabriel Ikenga AMNIS, Nigeria Branch
 - Capt Oscar Rodriguez Luna AFNI, Venezuela Branch
 - Mr Yusuf Buckmire MNI, Trinidad & Tobago Branch

The meeting concluded at 1800 local time.

Signed as a true record of the decisions:

Captain André LeGoubin FNI President Captain John Lloyd FNI Chief Executive Officer

Chair of the Meeting

Secretary

Meeting Attendees:

Proxy votes were made by the Chair on behalf of Captain Winston Churchill Captain Kwarme Deynu Captain Aleksandar Nikovic

A proxy vote was made by the CEO on behalf of **Colonel Mike Bowles**

In person (Invited)

person (Invited)		L		
First Name	Last Name		Orlando	DimailigI AFNI
André	LeGoubin (Chair)		Cristy	Andrada
	Hinchliffe (Chair, Exec		Maria	
Peter	Board)		Theresa	Bayaua
Duncan	Telfer (Hon Treasurer)		Niedo	Arcelio
	Bailey (Senior Vice		Randy	Solis
Trevor	President)		Rino	Casio
			Marie Yessica	Mamorono
Anna	Ruszczynska MNI		SHAYNE	
Mike	Meade FNI CMMar		KRISTINE	HERRERA
Melchora	Meade		April Joy	Agbayani
John Erll	Destacamento		Robert	Rayner FNI
Joeridge	Ross		Brian	Phipps
Moodera	Nanjappa		George	Hoyt
Morita	Kan		CEFERINO JR	LEAL
Kikuchi	Kazuhiko		EDUARDO	LABANTA
Ayumu	Kurihara	1	Capt. JERRY	JUSTO
Jemy Abao	Agocoy		ROEL	CAPUNO
Peter	Lambert		Stephen	JAYAG
Yves	Vandenborn		Ruszell	Apachecha
Scott	Dunaway AFNI			
Michael	Bolaños MNI			

Online

First Name	Last Name	Samantha	Atieno
Eric	Abiola	Karl	Austin
Paragastotage	Anura Santha Fernando	Nitin	Behal
Adrián Fernando	Arauz Hernandez	Luciana	Bezerra Aguiar E Silva
Glen	Aroza	Jagos	Boricic
Mauricio	Arriagada	Jaquelyn	Burton
Simon	Ashton	Jovan	Cavor
Nikos	Aslanis	Atiqur	Chowdhury

Elizabeth Stella Jeric Savio Graham Joseph Ajith Amit Shrikrishna Brandt Mvuvisi Melvin Mohamed Luca Gordon Martin Kofi Owusu Generoso Jr Konstantinos Philip Victor Matthew Mohd Syazwan Hisyam Robert Soe Michael Ogbekile Zarir Aimal Nalindra Vivek Geoffrey Mohamed Nikolaos Imtiaz Roman Milutin Deirdre Rodney Paolo Vinicius Michael Gerasimos Srirang Peter lan

Coase Cobbah Cope Coutinho COWLING Dalida Dehiwala Liyanage Deshpande Douglas Von Krieger Dweba Eldhose Elsharkawi Ferrerio Foot Fothergill Frimpong Galvez Geomelos Gregson Gronmyr Groves Haji Ahmad Nawawi Haron Hildebrand Hlaing lfesemen Irani Ismail Jayasinghe Jha Jones Kamel Katechos Khan Kogakov Lakiä‡Eviä‡ Lane Lingard Maddaloni Madruga Santos Mandal Mandilas Manieshwar Martin Mathison

Rajan Fraser Charles Robert Kennedy Dean Khurshid Robbie lvor Pawan Talib Vinayak Yusuke Anthony Xolani Aleksandar Michael Denver Lee Patrick Samuel Obianuju Damir Nimal Shehan Theekshana Reuben Ann Mohammed Forkanul A Javier Syaiful Ronan Jeff Kunal Katerina Gurpreet Atulya Prathit David Kyle Lylevans Lutz Ulrich Martin **Riccardo Luigi** Otari Beniamin Maneesh Ahmad Nitzeira Nish

Mathur Matthew Mawer Mc Cabe Mensah Mian Middleton Minnis Mittal Mohammed Mohla Mori Neumann Ngema Nikovic Ogunjuyigbe Olayen O'Loughlin Omowaiye Oseji-Okebunor Pejcinovic Perera Perera Peter Pletschke Ouader Quintero Saavedra Saimin Santoalia Sarin Sfaellou Singh Singh Singh Chandel Snider Terenal Troeder Tromba Tvaradze Ugwumadu Varma Wahid Watson Wijayakulathilaka

NIHQ Staff

John	Lloyd
David	Patraiko (online)
Martin	Fothergill (online)
Steven	Gosling
James	Luetchford (online)
Caetano	Sato
Ericsson	Kwan (online)
Charly	Coldrey